Is CBD Halal?
Different religious groups have a wide range of practices and restrictions including what is allowed to be consumed. In Islam, alcohol is banned. However, in the Hindu faith, alcohol is freely consumed. But due to Islam restricting food and drink that can be seen as harmful, where does CBD fall? Here, we will answer the question is CBD halal? Read on to find out.
What Is Halal?
Halal is a term that means ‘permissible’ in Arabic. It’s the term used to indicate if something is religiously allowed. The opposite of halal is haram, which means ‘forbidden’.
For adherents of Islam, halal dietary guidelines are intended to make sure all food and beverages consumed are in accordance with the Qur’an and Islamic law. The Qur’an is the holy book of Islam and contains passages about halal food that Allah has made lawful for believers to consume. These guidelines dictate that animals must be slaughtered via a specific cut made to jugular veins which drain all of their blood whilst leaving their spinal cord intact.
However, halal isn’t just about how the meat is slaughtered. Muslims also need to ensure the food that they consume won’t cause them any physical harm such as cancer if their bodies can’t properly digest them.
Many supporters of Islam believe the passages within the Qur’an clearly forbid alcohol and drug consumption as it refers to harmful behaviours that would shame a believer’s faith.
More About CBD
CBD, short for cannabidiol, is a compound extracted from the cannabis plant and diluted with a carrier oil like coconut oil or hemp seed oil to help your body absorb it. It’s one of the many chemicals known as cannabinoids found in the cannabis plant and doesn’t have any psychoactive effects like its counterpart, THC, which gives you the high that you usually associate with smoking cannabis.
CBD is extracted from industrial hemp and is cultivated from seeds that contain less than 0.2% THC. Although many CBD products include trace amounts of THC in them, this isn’t enough to cause a high and is actually thought to work better in conjunction with each other. CBD oil doesn’t produce a high, but it is associated with alleviating symptoms of a number of ailments including:
- Chronic pain
- Cancer-related symptoms
- High blood pressure
- Parkinson’s disease
CBD oil is edible and can be added to consumable products such CBD gummies, drinks like CBD tea and CBD coffee, and even CBD topicals. However, it is most commonly taken in its oil form by placing the dosage under the tongue using a dropper and holding it there for around 60 seconds. This allows for the oil to be absorbed into the blood vessels and you can swallow the oil once the 60 seconds have passed. When it comes to starting anything new, it’s recommended that you start slow. Therefore, start with a low potency and low dosage and work your way up once you’ve determined the effects it has on your body.
Is CBD Oil Halal?
There are concerns to whether CBD is considered halal or haram considering that it derives from the cannabis plant which contains various quantities of tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) which is the psychoactive component that gives the high associated with cannabis. Whilst it’s important to note that CBD doesn’t have any psychoactive properties, some Muslims still perceive CBD as a haram product in the Islamic faith due to its association with THC.
Some Muslims believe that if a CBD product is derived from hemp and contains no THC, it should be considered halal so that it can be used for health benefits. However, some aren’t so sure and believe CBD’s status as haram depends on how it was sourced and the plant it came from, whether it was hemp or cannabis. Also, since non-halal items such as food additives or alcohol are often used in the production of CBD products, some Muslims claim they can’t consider it halal because certain ingredients might render it haram.
With the advancements in the health food industry, much of the food and drink we consume can now be made with halal-friendly products such as vegetable-based capsules, GMO-free rice paper and water-based glaze for CBD sweets.
How To Find Halal CBD
To ensure you consume halal CBD, you can take steps you can take:
- Look for vegan products. CBD products with vegan certification will contain no animal products which will prevent you from consuming items from animals that weren’t properly slaughtered. They will also be free from insect products such as cochineal red food colouring which is haram.
- Check the ingredients. Once you’ve found a 0% THC, vegan CBD product from a trustworthy retailer like Zeal CBD, it’s important to take a detailed look at the ingredients as
Conclusion: Is CBD Halal?
THC usage is a definite no for Muslims who follow the halal diet. However, the absence of this compound makes hemp extract a beneficial plant with many reported health benefits. In the absence of the psychoactive compound, THC, CBD can be viewed in a similar light to other herbal supplements like lavender. When produced without pork derivatives, THC and alcohol, CBD can be considered halal and some companies are now even adding a halal certification to their products so that you can clearly see which items are allowed. It’s always best to check the lab reports as well as the label to ensure the product you’re using is THC free. Following the Islamic faith is no reason to miss out on the many health benefits of CBD, so browse your favourite products online now.